Airline Revenue Management

American Airlines Suspends Service to 15 Markets in October as CARES Act Service Commitment Expires

American Airlines Boeing B787
American Airlines Boeing B787 | Image courtesy of America Airlines

American Airlines Group Inc. will adjust its October schedule to remove service to 15 markets as a result of low demand and the expiration of the air service requirements associated with the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security (CARES) Act. This is the first step as American continues to evaluate its network and plans for additional schedule changes in the coming weeks.

These station suspensions will be effective Oct. 7. For now, these changes are only in place for the October schedule period, which runs through Nov. 3.

The airline will continue to re-assess plans for these and other markets as an extension of the Payroll Support Program remains under deliberation. The full, updated October schedule will be released Aug. 29, and American anticipates releasing its updated November schedule by late-September.

The full list of suspensions is below and will be reflected on Aug. 29.

Service suspensions beginning 7th October:

  • Del Rio, Texas (DRT)
  • Dubuque, Iowa (DBQ)
  • Florence, S.C. (FLO)
  • Greenville, N.C. (PGV)
  • Huntington, W.Va. (HTS)
  • Joplin, Mo. (JLN)
  • Kalamazoo/Battle Creek, Mich. (AZO)
  • Lake Charles, La. (LCH)
  • New Haven, Conn. (HVN)
  • New Windsor, N.Y. (SWF)
  • Roswell, N.M. (ROW)
  • Sioux City, Iowa (SUX)
  • Springfield, Ill. (SPI)
  • Stillwater, Okla. (SWO)
  • Williamsport, Pa.(IPT)


Source: American Airlines

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Related articles

We use cookies to personalise your experience. By using our website you agree to our terms and conditions and Privacy Policy.